Inductees, Scholars, and Award Winners feted at Annual Induction and Awards Ceremony Gala!

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame proudly inducted its Class of 2019 on May 19that Portland’s Merrill Auditorium before an appreciative audience of several hundred. Tom Austin, Andy Bedard, Pat Gallant-Charette, Eric Fenton, Sam Ladd, Wally Lafountain, Jess Leclerc, Steve Martin, Wes McCauley, Kevin Rand, Nancy Storey, and Tim Wilson gave acceptance speeches which were inspirational, humorous, thought-provoking and heartfelt demonstrating how each Inductee discovered and excelled in their chosen paths and, in the process, made "A Better Maine Through Sport!"

TD Bank’s Larry Wold accepted the Inaugural Partner in Purpose Award and Madison Unified Basketball, Thornton Academy Football, Cheverus-Kennebunk-Old Orchard Girls Ice Hockey, and Bowdoin Women’s basketball were honored with "A Better Maine Through Sport" Team Awards.

Six of Maine's outstanding High School senior Scholar Athletes received $5000 scholarships for their achievements in both academics and athletics. Nyagoa Bayak (Westbrook HS), Tyler Bridge (Wells HS), Alex Ezzy (Caribou HS), Emma Hargreaves (Old Town HS), Liberty Ladd (Falmouth HS), and Cymeria Robshaw (Penquis Valley HS) made all of us proud with their poised and polished speeches!

The MSHOF team put on an entertaining and informative program. Bill Green, 2014 MSHOF Inductee and current Board Member, emceed the Ceremony and lent his distinctive voice to video tributes of the Inductees. The videos were produced by MSHOF Board Member Brian Corcoran and his outstanding team at Shamrock Sports & Entertainment. Lisa Hook, Chair of the MSHOF Scholarship Committee, personalized the stories of each of our Scholar Athletes for the appreciative audience.

Finally, Dick Whitmore, the longtime Head Basketball Coach at Colby and currently the Chairman of the MSHOF Board, put his stamp and personal mantra of being "the best of the best" on each one of his inspirational introductions of the Inductees.

The Ceremony ended with the drawing of the Scholarship Fund Raffle winning ticket which was purchased by Jon Olinto of Boston who is already packing his bags for a trip to London to see the Red Sox! Thanks to the generosity of our ticket buyers we raised nearly $18,000 for next year’s scholarship recipients!

The Ceremony would not have been possible without the support of the MSHOF Board of Directors and, most importantly, the generous contributions of our Sponsors: Lead Sponsors Kevin and Heidi Naughton, Major Sponsors Baltimore Ravens, Boston Bruins, LL Bean, NHLOA, Shamrock Sports, Sunday River and The University Of Maine, and Program Sponsors Agren Appliance, Bridgton Academy, Camden National Bank, Colby College, Senator Susan Collins, Cross Insurance, Downeast Group At Morgan Stanley, Hancock Lumber, MaineHealth, Maine Mariners, Maine State Golf Association, Norway Savings Bank, Old Port Advisors, People’s United Bank, Pine Tree Seafood, RLJ Companies, Tidesmart Global, Unum, and Woodin & Co

Thanks to our Inductees, Award winners, Scholar Athletes, Sponsors, and the professional staff at Merrill Auditorium for a truly special day! Special thanks to Kelly Pinney-Michaud and her invaluable assistants for the day, Amanda Whitmore, Katie Whitmore, Sara Friedman, and Hannah Pinney. Look for pictures and video soon!

Contact Us

Maine Sports Hall of Fame
P.O. Box 2619
South Portland, ME 04116

Phone (207) 272-2178

Our Mission

The Maine Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1972 for the purpose of: 1) appointing and bestowing recognition awards and scholarships to outstanding Maine high school scholar-athletes; and, 2) to formally honor and memorialize Maine athletes and sports figures who have brought distinction and honor to the state of Maine.

Stacks Image p881_n79
© 2017 Maine Sports Hall of Fame Contact Me